Championship standings after Assen

  • 1 Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 587
  • 2 Ryuichi Kiyonari Buildbase BMW 575
  • 3 Josh Brookes Milwaukee Yamaha 536
  • 4 Tommy Bridewell Milwaukee Yamaha 531
  • 5 Dan Linfoot Quattro Plant Kawasaki 524
  • 6 Chris Walker Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki 505
  • 7 Stuart Easton Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 176
  • 8 James Ellison Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki 153
  • 9 Josh Waters Tyco Suzuki 151
  • 10 John Hopkins Tyco Suzuki 111

Title Fighters gear up for Assen showdown

The six MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship Title Fighters are gearing up for the most important event of the season so far, the crucial opening round of the Showdown at the legendary Assen circuit in Holland this weekend (19/20/21 September)

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne takes a 26 point advantage to Assen.


Kiyonari and Brookes dominate at Oulton Park

Ryuichi Kiyonari continued his ‘War for Four’ MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship titles at Oulton Park as he headed off the determined challenges of Josh Brookes to win the opening two races of the triple header seventh round at Oulton Park. However the Australian retaliated with a victory in the final race.

Josh Brookes closed the gap on Shane Byrne.


Oulton Park Round 7 preview: Brookes on a roll

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and Ryuichi Kiyonari are currently locked in a fierce battle for a record-breaking fourth MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship victory, but as the title race reaches Oulton Park this weekend (8/9/10 August) Josh Brookes is on a mission to continue his winning form.

Action from the first Oulton Park race weekend in May.

Credit: PA

Championship standings after Thruxton

  • 1 Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 261
  • 2 Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 179
  • 3 Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) 139
  • 4 James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) 124
  • 5C hris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) 116
  • 6 Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) 116

Result: Thruxton, race 2

  • 1 Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha)
  • 2 Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.204s
  • 3 Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +0.467s
  • 4 Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +3.343s
  • 5 Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +7.734s
  • 6 Jon Kirkham (Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki) +8.481s
  • 7 Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +8.886s
  • 8John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) +9.039s
  • 9 Howie Mainwaring (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +10.452s
  • 10 Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves Honda) +10.532s