BMWs set Knockhill pace

The eBay Motors BMWs of Colin Turkington and Rob Collard set the fastest times in the first practice session for this weekend’s Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship races at Knockhill in Scotland.

Turkington, the current championship leader, lapped the 1.7 mile circuit near Dunfermline in a time of 51.870 seconds, four tenths ahead of team-mate Collard.

Jason Plato, in the MG, was third fastest, a further 0.1 seconds back. It was a close session with the top thirteen cars separated by a second.

Of the local drivers, Gordon Shedden was fastest, fourth overall. Glynn Geddie was thirteenth, Dave newsham 22nd and Aiden Moffat 23rd.

Turkington makes it two out of two

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship leader Colin Turkington has secured his second straight victory of the day at Croft and his fourth win from the last five races.

Turkington made another clean getaway from pole position and although Honda Yuasa Racing’s Gordon Shedden kept him honest for much of the race the eBay Motors driver eventually won the contest by more than six seconds.

Lights to flag win for Turkington at Croft

eBay Motors’ Colin Turkington was already the most successful BTCC driver ever around Croft coming into the weekend and he’s further enhanced his record with a lights-to-flag victory in the opening race at the Yorkshire venue.

The confident 32-year-old’s win today was particularly routine as he made a clean getaway from pole position before gradually pulling away from the chasing pack throughout the race.

Turkington took his seventh and eighth victories at the circuit in 2013 and is also currently enjoying a rich vein of form in recent events. A double win last time out at Oulton Park sent Turkington soaring the championship summit and he’s simply picked up from where he left off by taking another commanding victory here. This fact that both the driver and his BMW 125i M Sport seem perfectly suited to the 2.5 mile Croft circuit suggested his rivals would have their work cut out to challenge, and so it proved as Turkington scampered away to win by more than seven seconds after 14 laps of racing.

Gordon Shedden scored a lonely second position after getting the jump on Jason Plato on the run down to Clervaux for the first time, but the battle for the final place on the podium was anything but routine.

Plato initially seemed to get a good start in his MG6 but got bogged down in the run through the gears, giving Shedden’s Civic Tourer the chance to nip by. It was fraught behind on the exit of Clervaux as Matt Neal got sideways and was touched by the Honda of Andrew Jordan.

As the gaggle behind baulked up there was a chain of events that ultimately led to contact between Nick Foster’s BMW, Adam Morgan’s Mercedes and Rob Austin’s Audi A4. The first two retired with damage, whilst Austin continued at the rear of the field before enduring further incidents later in the race.

The fallout from the incident meant Rob Collard was now attached to the rear bumper of Plato’s MG, whilst Jordan squabbled with the sister MG behind. Neal fought his way back up to sixth after despatching Tordoff’s MG.

Tordoff dropped further down the order when the hard-charging Alain Menu surged past later in the race, and Airwaves Racing’s Mat Jackson immediately followed suit. It had been a hard day for the ‘Blue Ovals’ on Saturday but Jackson’s rise to eighth and the AmD Focus of Dave Newsham taking 11th will have provided some promise for the marque.

Hunter Abbott scored his first ever top ten finish in the BTCC, whilst Martin Depper scored his first points of the season with 14th in the Pirtek Racing Civic.

There was myriad of incidents further down the field with a number of cars finishing the race with damaged bodywork. Austin and Warren Scott’s VW touched at the final hairpin, forcing the Crabbie’s Focus of Jack Clarke to take evasive action. Clarke then had his own moment with Jack Goff’s Vauxhall Insignia, whilst Glynn Geddie’s Toyota was forced to pit by stewards with potentially dangerous bodywork flailing from his bonnet.

  • 1 Colin TURKINGTON 14 laps
  • 2 Gordon SHEDDEN +7.478
  • 3 Jason PLATO +13.890
  • 4 Rob COLLARD +14.153
  • 5 Andrew JORDAN +14.692
  • 6 Matt NEAL +15/054
  • 7 Mat JACKSON +19.173
  • 8 Sam TORDOFF +20.905
  • 9 Hunter ABBOTT +21.361
  • 10 Dave NEWSHAM +22.038
  • 11 Fabrizio GIOVANARDI +31.159
  • 12 Rob AUSTIN +33.990
  • 13 Martin DEPPER +38.463
  • 14 Tom INGRAM +38.504
  • 15 Marc HYNES +40.556
  • 16 Jack CLARKE +44.342
  • 17 Lea WOOD +46.239
  • 18 Jack GOFF +46.567
  • 19 Aiden MOFFAT +54.186
  • 20 James COLE +1:00.014
  • 21 Ollie JACKSON +1:00:052
  • 22 Aron SMITH +1:03.623
  • 23 Dan WELCH +1:04.310
  • 24 Warren SCOTT +1:04.924
  • 25 Simon BELCHR +1:11.282
  • 26 Glynn GEDDIE -1 lap
  • 27 Robb HOLLAND -2 laps
  • Colin Turkington