BTCC blasts across Forth road bridge

The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship blasted into Scotland in style today with an incredible parade across the Forth Road Bridge.

The four current Scottish-based BTCC drivers – Gordon Shedden, Aiden Moffat, Glynn Geddie and Dave Newsham – all made the crossing in their flame-spitting machines, and were joined by a spectacular cavalcade of cars once piloted by the legendary Jim Clark, who won the BTCC 50 years ago.

2015 BTCC calendar unveiled

BTCC Series Director Alan Gow has unveiled the championship's race calendar for next season, which once again visits nine of the UK's best circuits.

The calendar is similar to the 2013 calendar with June's visit to Oulton Park in Cheshire using the Island layout rather than the Shell layout used this season. That change came after criticism that the longer circuit formation produced dull races with drivers unable to overtake.

Oulton Park's Shell layout was not good for racing: BTCC returns to Island formation next year.

Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography