Jackson takes race 1 win at Donington

Motorbase Performance’s Mat Jackson won an exciting Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship opener at Donington Park after muscling his way past MG’s front row starters.

Pole-sitter Ashley Sutton bogged down off the line and dropped back to fourth while Josh Cook banged wheels with Jackson’s Ford Focus, but the latter was able to squeeze through on the run down to Redgate for the first time.

Lloyd joins BTCC with Eurotech Racing

Talented young driver Daniel Lloyd has signed for Eurotech Racing and will join the 2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship from the Thruxton weekend onwards.

Lloyd is no stranger to the BTCC paddock having been a two-time race winner in the Porsche Carerra Cup GB back in 2012 and 2013. The Yorkshireman has since gone on to race in a number of GT championships, including the Blancpain Endurance Series, British GT and United Sports Car Championship.

MG duo on front row as rain and red flags hit Donington

MG drivers Ashley Sutton and Josh Cook will share the front row of the provisional grid for the first of tomorrow's three Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship races at Donington Park after setting the fastest times at the end of a frenetic qualifying session this afternoon.

However Sutton, in only his second race weekend as a BTCC driver, could face a penalty if stewards decide he set the pole time under yellow flags, after Mat Jackson spun into the gravel ahead of him on his fastest lap.

Halfords Yuasa Racing parts ways with Andy Neate

Halfords Yuasa Racing will be a two-car squad for the remainder of the season.

Credit: btcc.net

Halfords Yuasa Racing will be a two-car squad for the remainder of the 2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, after ending its relationship with third driver Andy Neate with immediate effect.

Series organiser TOCA has been kept aware of developments throughout the process and has agreed to the withdrawal of the car from the remainder of the 2016 Championship, and has subsequently recalled the loaned TBL (TOCA BTCC Licence) associated with that entry.

Halfords Yuasa Racing still holds two permanent TBLs, which are required for each entry to guarantee participation, whilst this third licence was loaned to the team prior to the 2016 season.

This loaned TBL shall be re-allocated by TOCA from the next event (Thruxton) to another team/entry for the rest of the season – details of which will be announced in due course.