1. ITV Report

Tory leadership race explained: How it will unfold

The Conservative Party leadership candidates. Credit: PA

The race to succeed David Cameron at Number 10 has begun in earnest, with five Tory MPs having launched their bids to become the next leader of the Conservative party.

The party has confirmed Theresa May, Michael Gove, Stephen Crabb, Liam Fox and Andrea Leadsom will contend the leadership of the party.

It follows the shock announcement by Boris Johnson that he will not be standing.

  • How is a candidate nominated?

A potential candidate must be formally proposed and seconded by fellow MPs, and agree to abide by the rules.

Under the terms of the Conservative party constitution, the 1922 Committee will present to the party "as soon as reasonably practical" a choice of candidates for the election of leader.

  • When do nominations open and close?

Formal nominations will begin on Wednesday when the 1922 Committee gathers for its weekly meeting and rubber stamps the process.

Nominations for the leadership will close at midday on Thursday.

  • What happens then?

Candidates will go head-to-head at hustings events around the country with their pitches to party members.

A candidate achieving more than 50 per cent of the vote among Party members will be declared Leader of the Party.

  • When will a new leader be announced?

The new Tory leader - who will also take the keys to Number 10 - is expected to be in place by September 9.

More on this story