1. ITV Report

New powers for region's cities

Cambridge is one of 20 cities to be offered the deal Photo: PA

Deals that will set 20 cities free from the Whitehall leash will be announced today (Monday 18 February) by the Deputy Prime Minister in a speech at Mansion House in London.

Cambridge, Ipswich, Norwich, Milton Keynes and Southend are amoung the cities to be offered a 'new deal'

These deals help cities and their wider areas make once in a generation changes that will be felt by everyone across their region.

– Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg

The deals will be reached between Government and cities so that local areas can bid for new powers that will enable them to grow.

In return for cities' strong plans for growth the government will devolve financial and planning powers to let cities take charge of their own destinies - from autonomy over how to spend their training and skills budgets, to creating local investment funds to build roads and unlock developments.

Norwich is one of 5 cities in the east to be offered new powers Credit: PA

*In October 2012, as part of the deal process, twenty cities were invited to submit bids to get a City Deal. Each area worked with local partners and their Local Enterprise Partnership to put forward proposals. *

Following careful assessment of the bids - which are judged on whether they are ambitious, robust and can attract private sector investment - the government has decided to enter negotiations with every city on a staggered timeline.

The Government will now work closely with cities to develop the proposals in more detail and to negotiate a final deal. We will aim to complete deals with the twenty cities over the next year.