1. ITV Report

New Year Honours for people in Essex

New Year Honours for people in Essex Photo:

A selection of people in Essex have been given honours in the 2013 New Year Honours list.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Roy Stone from Rayleigh, Essex - Principal Private Secretary, Government Chief Whip's Office. For parliamentary and public service.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Michael Bonehill from Theydon Bois, Essex - For charitable services, particularly to the National Youth Theatre.

Sally Davies from Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex - Headteacher, Thriftwood Special School, Chelmsford. For services to Special Needs Education.

Sally Hayes-Smith from Cressing, Essex - Founder and Executive Director, Action for Kids Charitable Trust. For services to Children and Young People.

Jane Humphreys from Chelmsford - Head of Spectrum Policy, Department for Culture, Media and Sport. For services to UK Mobile Communications.

Sandra Manning from Chafford Hundred, Essex - Business Unit Head, Local Compliance, London, HM Revenue and Customs. For services to Tax Compliance and voluntary service to the community.

Keith Musto from Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex - Founder, Musto Clothing. For services to the Economy.

Members of the Order of the British (MBE)

Charles Back from Purleigh, Essex - Member, Cirdan Sailing Trust, Essex. For services to Young People.

Roy Boreham from Chelmsford - Life Vice-President, National and Essex Federation of Young Farmers Clubs. For services to Young Farmers.

Louise Brearley from Saffron Walden, Essex - Head, London 2012 Games Team, Health and Safety Executive. For services to the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games and voluntary service to Young People in Essex.

Ian Burrell from Southend-on-Sea, Essex - Chairman, Ambulance Motorcycle Club UK. For services to Motorcycle Safety, particularly through the CRASH Card Scheme.

Janine Bush from Colchester, Essex - Principal Private Secretary to the Treasury Solicitor, Treasury Solicitor's Department. For services to the Government Legal Service.

Carol Compton from Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex - Manager, Integrated Youth Support Service, Southend Borough Council. For services to Children and Families.

Ilid Davies from Loughton, Essex - Head of Public Protection, London Probation Trust. For services to Public Protection and the Rehabilitation of Residents of Approved Premises.

Lucy Hodges from Rochford, Essex - For services to Blind Sailing.

Adam Hunt from Colchester, Essex - Force Solicitor, Essex Police. For services to Policing.

David Lodge from Maldon, Essex - Chair of Grants Committee, Friends of Essex Churches Trust. For services to Building Conservation.

David Norman from Leigh-on-Sea, Essex - Lately Chair, Governing Executive, Ruskin College, Oxford. For services to Adult Education.

Peter Philpot from Billericay, Essex - Farmer. For services to Agriculture, the Rural Economy, Education and Young People in Essex.

Edward Slater from Colchester, Essex - National Chairman, Normandy Veterans Association. For voluntary service to Normandy Veterans.

Nigel Spencer from Harwich, Essex - Teacher, All Saints Church of England Primary School, Essex. For services to Education.

Avril Spriggs from Basildon, Essex - For voluntary service to Gymnastics.

Geoffrey Williams from Basildon, Essex - Councillor, Basildon Borough Council. For service to Local Government.

Roy Williams from Colchester, Essex - Engineer and Equipment Examiner, Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence Engineering.

British Empire Medal (BEM)

Janet Brewer from Brentwood, Essex - Secretary, London North East Branch, SSAFA. For voluntary service to SSAFA.

Donald Coleman from Witham, Essex - For services to Music and the community in Rivenhall and Silver End, Essex.

Graham Ellis from Harlow, Essex - For charitable services.

Irene Heathcote from Benfleet, Essex - Volunteer, Southend Hospital Audiology Department. For voluntary services to People with Hearing Impairments.

Pamela Hurcomb from Colchester, Essex - Bank Staff Nurse, Essex. For services to Healthcare.

Daniel Lawrence from Billericay, Essex - For services to Community Radio in Essex.

Garard McEwen from Ingatestone, Essex - For services to the community in Essex.

Susan Ratcliffe from Harlow, Essex - Fundraiser, Guide Dogs. For services to People with Visual Impairments.

Deanna Walker from Colchester, Essex - Senior Academic Officer, University of Essex. For services to Higher Education. Myra Weir from Hawkwell, Essex - For services to the Rochford Day Centre and to the community in Rochford and Hawkwell, Essex.

Eileen Withrington from Shenfield, Essex - School Volunteer, St Jude and St Paul’s Church of England Primary School, Islington. For services to Education.

More on this story