Live updates

'Norfolk's lost a friend to Norfolk' tributes to former County Council leader

Cliff Jordan former leader of Norfolk County Council Credit: ITV News Anglia

The former leader of Norfolk County Council, Cliff Jordan, has died from lung cancer just three weeks after stepping down through ill-health.

The current council leader Andrew Proctor told ITV News Anglia that not only has 'Norfolk lost a big political figure, but it has lost a friend to Norfolk as well.'



Barred from Britain despite working here for 50 years

Clayton Barnes reunited with his grandson at the airport after arriving back in Britain. Credit: ITV News

Clayton Barnes has spent the last eight years stranded in Jamaica after being caught up in the Windrush scandal - barred from re-entering the UK, despite having lived here since 1959.

Last week ITV helped bring him back home to Milton Keynes to be reunited with his family here.

Clayton Barnes (82) arrived in Britain in 1959 and was given indefinite leave to remain. Credit: ITV News Anglia

Clayton is now 82 and when he arrived in the UK nearly 60 years ago he was given indefinite leave to remain.

After living and working here for more than fifty years - including a time fixing the roof of Buckingham Palace - he went back to Jamaica after his retirement. But when he tried to fly back to the UK - he was told he wasn't allowed.

  • Click to watch a report by ITV News Anglia's Sarah Byrd
Load more updates