Live updates

Labour increase majority in Norwich at expense of Greens

Labour have retained control of Norwich City Council. Credit: ITV News Anglia

Labour have increased their overall majority on Norwich City Council taking it to 13.

They gained four more seats at the expense of the Green Party.

Norwich South Labour MP Clive Lewis is celebrating the election victory.

Labour increase majority in Ipswich

Labour have increased their overall majority to 18 Credit: ITV News Anglia

Labour have increased their overall majority on Ipswich Borough Council taking it to 18.

The party made two gains at the expense of the Conservatives.

Ipswich council has been in Labour hands since 2011 after they lost their overall majority in 2004 after 25 years in power.

Ipswich was a Labour target seat at the 2015 General Election but it was retained by Conservative MP Ben Gummer.


Lib Dem gain in Milton Keynes but council still hung

Milton Keynes continues its ten year run of no overall majority Credit: ITV News Anglia

The Conservatives are now tied with Labour on Milton Keynes Council but neither has an overall majority.

The Liberal Democrats made a single gain at the expense of Labour despite Jeremy Corbyn making an election visit to the new town at the start of the campaign.

Labour were running the council on a minority basis before this election after a decade-long spell when no one party has had an overall majority.

UKIP replace Labour as second party in Great Yarmouth

Great Yarmouth Council remains under no overall control Credit: ITV News Anglia

UKIP have made 4 gains in Great Yarmouth replacing Labour as the second-largest party.

The Conservative still have the most seats but still without an overall majority so will have to work with UKIP to remain in power in the coastal town.

Labour lost three seats leaving them will 11 councillors on a council on which they won an overall majority as recently as 2012.


Gains for Tories and Lib Dems on St Albans Council

Conservatives hold St Albans Credit: ITV News Anglia

The Conservatives have increased their majority on St Albans City and District Council. The party now has an overall majority of four, up from two before the election.

The Lib Dems also made a single gain with net losses for Labour and an Independent.

The Lib Dems were last party to have an overall majority in 2011 and the party had been in and out of power since 1994

Thurrock remains hung with UKIP and Tories neck and neck

UKIP gained 6 seats in Thurrock Credit: ITV News Anglia

Thurrock Council in south Essex remains hung with UKIP and the Conservatives tied as the largest party in 17 seats. Labour, which once ran the council, has 14 seats.

UKIP could so easily have been the largest party after coming within one vote of snatching Little Thurrock Blackshots from the Tories.

Load more updates