Live updates

Thousands head to Clacton to make the most of the sun and seaside festival

Thousands of people descended on Clacton to make the most of the heatwave and a new Beside the Seaside festival.

After two successful years of holding a weekend event, this year it's being split to allow Harwich to also benefit from visitors later in the summer.

The festival coincided with a free day out for families of members of the armed forces and emergency services at the pier.


Man charged with murder in Clacton

A man has been charged with the murder of a woman in Vista Road Clacton

Detectives investigating the murder of a woman in Clacton have charged a man with her murder.

He is 71 year old John Chapman from Vista Road in the town. He's accused of killing 81 year old Jean Chapman who lived at the same address.

He is due to appear at Chelmsford Magistrates’ Court later today,

Pedestrian, in his 70s, killed as car crashes into pub

The crash happened at Clacton Road. Credit: ITV News Anglia.

A pedestrian has died after a car hit him as it crashed into a pub in Essex.

The man, in his 70s, was walking along Clacton Road in St Osyth, near Clacton, at about 4.20pm yesterday (Thursday) afternoon.

A Volkswagen estate left the road and crashed into The Hoy pub at the crossroads with The Bury and Colchester Road.

A 36-year-old woman, from the Clacton area, has been arrested on suspicion of causing death by dangerous driving. She was taken to hospital with serious but not life-threatening injuries.

The pub has been structurally damaged.


Man jailed after burglary at jewellers

Man jailed for burglary at Clacton jewellers Credit: ITV Anglia

A man has been jailed following a burglary at a jewellers in Clacton.

The raid took place at Koulla in Rosemary Road in the town at around 4am on Monday May 8.

George Farley 18, unemployed, of Rosemary Road, Clacton was sentenced to 32 weeks in a young offender’s institution today, Tuesday, May 9, at Chelmsford Magistrates’ Court.

He received 18 weeks for burglary, 14 weeks for possession of an offensive weapon and three weeks, to run concurrently, for criminal damage. Farley was also fined £140.

Clacton commemorates VE Day with service at Clacton war memorial

War veterans, organisations and residents stood side by side to commemorate the end of the Second World War in Europe on Clacton seafront today.

The Royal British Legion (RBL) and Tendring District Council (TDC) staged a VE Day service at the town’s War Memorial Gardens on Marine Parade West at 11am.

The service was led by Rev David Lower with a reading by the TDC Chairman and Jamie Robinson, Chairman of Clacton RBL, was the Parade Marshal.

There were three standards on parade from Clacton RBL, Clacton Royal Air Force Association and Clacton Comrades Club.

Dan Casey, President of Clacton RBL, thanked all those who turned up at the memorial.

“It is good to see everyone come together on this very special day to mark the anniversary of VE Day in this way,” he added.

“It is an opportunity for all of us to stand side by side to remember the end of the Second World War in Europe – as well as the sacrifices made by so many men and women.”

Arron Banks will NOT fight Clacton at the General Election

Arron Banks spent the day in Clacton Credit: ITV News Anglia

Former Ukip donor Arron Banks has announced that he will not fight Clacton at the next general election.

The millionaire businessman had previously suggested he would contest the Essex seat after clashing with its MP Douglas Carswell.

But he has now thrown his support behind a local Ukip candidate after Mr Carswell announced he was standing down.

The announcement came after he spent the day in the Essex town. Credit: ITV News Anglia

Mr Banks said the outgoing MP, who won the seat twice for Ukip but later quit the party, was a "hugely divisive figure and let a lot of people down in Clacton"

He said: "Douglas Carswell is the epitome of a nasty little career politician who didn't give two hoots for the area.He stood originally for Ukip because he knew they would win the seat in a general election. He used Ukip and did nothing for Clacton."

Mr Carswell said he would be voting Conservative on June 8 as he announced last week that "it is time for me to move on to other things".

Mr Banks has backed local councillor Jeff Bray and will give the local party cash for the campaign.

"Both myself and Nigel will be campaigning hard in Clacton and I have agreed to give the local party financial assistance to fight the election."

Millionaire UKIP donor to visit town where he hopes to be MP

The millionaire who's hoping to be the next Clacton MP. Credit: ITV Anglia

The millionaire UKIP donor Arron Banks is to visit Clacton today after putting himself forward to stand for the seat in the General Election, even though he admits he knows nothing about the seaside town.

He's hoping to replace Douglas Carswell who is standing down as an MP.

Arron Banks last week said 'I know nothing about Clacton'.

Load more updates