Live updates

  1. Phil Hornby

Region's new MEPs are sworn in at European Parliament

Newly elected MEPs from the Anglia region have spent the day being sworn in at the first sitting of the new European Parliament in Strasbourg.

In May's Euro election, UKIP won in the East of England with more than a third of the vote and returning three MEPs.

The Tories also got three seats and Labour got one with the Liberal Democrats losing their only seat.

The East Midlands, which includes Northamptonshire and Lincolnshire, returned two UKIP MEPs, two Conservatives and one from Labour.

Click below for a report from ITV News Political Correspondent Phil Hornby


Political reaction to the European Election results

Bernard Jenkin in the Conservative MP for Harwich and North Essex

Douglas Carswell is the Conservative MP for Clacton


UKIP win the European Election in the East Midlands

UKIP has won the European Election in the East Midlands, which includes Northampton.

UKIP gets two seats, the Conservatives also get two and Labour were allocated 1 MEP seat.

UKIP took 33% of the vote with the Tories coming second with 26%. Labour were just behind with 25%, the Greens got 6% knocking the Liberal Democrats into fifth place with 5% of the vote.

The Liberal Democrats have lost their East Midlands seat - Bill Newton Dunn was first elected to the European Parliament in 1999.

The Eastern region's seven new MEPs

The seven MEPs for the Eastern region after the 2014 election. Credit: ITV News Anglia

Five of the seven MEPs for the Eastern region will be returning to the European Parliament in Brussels and Strasbourg. They will be joined by two new faces from UKIP.

UKIP won the Eastern region vote and were allocated three seats - one more than in 2009.

The Conservatives also have three MEPs - the same number they won at the last European Election.

Labour were allocated the final place. The Liberal Democrat MEP Andrew Duff lost the seat he first won in 1999.

Load more updates