1. Anglia

Chelmsford wins city status

The winners of the Diamond Jubilee Civic Honours competition will be announced by the Deputy Prime Minister at about 9.30am on Wednesday 14 March.

View all 9 updates ›

Chelmsford wins city status

Chelmsford is to become a city as part of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee celebrations. Perth in Scotland and St Asaph in Wales also won city status.

26 towns were in the running. 6 of those were in the Anglia region - Colchester, Chelmsford, Southend, Corby, Luton and Milton Keynes.

More on this story

  • Chelmsford becomes city

    Chelmsford has beaten five other towns in the Anglia region to be made a city to mark the Queen's Diamond Jubilee.