Police Commissioner elections

It's voting day in the elections for new Police Commissioners across the region. The number of people turning out to vote appears to be low.

View all 45 updates ›

Nick Alston the new PCC for Essex

(First Count)

Nick Alston (C) 51,325 (30.51%)

Mick Thwaites (Ind) 40,132 (23.85%)

Val Morris-Cook (Lab) 27,926 (16.60%)

Linda Belgrove (Ind) 22,163 (13.17%)

Andrew Smith (Ukip) 15,138 (9.00%)

Robin Tilbrook (Eng Dem) 11,550 (6.87%)

Eliminated: Linda Belgrove, Val Morris-Cook, Andrew Smith, Robin Tilbrook

(Second Count)

Distribution of Belgrove's, Morris-Cook's, Smith's and Tilbrook's votes

Nick Alston (C) 62,350

Mick Thwaites (Ind) 58,664

Elected: Nick Alston**

Electorate 1,313,745; Turnout 168,234 (12.81%)

More on this story