Live updates

Inaugural rally winners return for 40th anniversary

Ivor Clark and Keith McCleary won the inaugural event in 1974 Credit: Galloway Hills Rally

The first ever winners of the Galloway Hills Rally, Ivor Clark and Keith McCleary, are reuniting to take part in the 40th event.

They crew will run with number one on their car door to mark the special occasion.

Drivers will have two runs through the super special stage at Auchenlosh Quarry, near Dalbeattie.

Spectators will have access to toilet facilities, catering and car parking, which is £10 per car.

To find out more about when the cars are due in each stage, and for more spectator information, click here.


Jock Armstrong: "It will be a good battle on Sunday"

Jock Armstrong has won this event a record-breaking five times. He will be up against five time Scottish Rally Champion, David Bogie, but is hoping to come away with the win:

"I've won this event a good few times now and know the stages well.

"David is obviously five times Scottish Champion so it maybe puts us on a more level playing field.

"It will be a good battle on Sunday, but I'll not being going out to get second place."

– Jock Armstrong

Hours to go until 40th Galloway Hills Rally

The 40th Galloway Hills Rally takes place this weekend and almost 80 crews have entered the Castle Douglas based event.

Organisers wanted to do something a a bit different to mark the anniversary, so they decided to build a "super special" stage.

The 1.5 mile stage has been built at Auchenlosh Quarry near Dalbeattie, and features jumps, a bridge and a water splash.

Event organiser Barbara Armstrong says it will give spectators a good view of the action.

"The spectator area sits up high so everyone can see the cars going round the 1.5 mile circuit. We have toilet facilities, car parking and catering so its a great chance to get the whole family involved and let's people get close to the action whilst still being safe."

– Barbara Armstrong, Event Organiser

The rally has also been included in the Scottish Rally Championship for the first time ever, and makes up the final round.

Dumfries driver David Bogie won the championship on the last round, but there are still many class battles to be decided.