Live updates

Changes to Carlisle polling stations

Ballot boxes Credit: David Jones/PA Wire

Four Carlisle polling station locations will change for the upcoming May Local and Cumbria Police Commissioner elections.

Electors in the affected areas have been notified this week by Carlisle City Council. Two of the changes are required as the locations are no longer available for use as polling stations and two are unavailable because of the effects of the December floods.

The four polling station changes are:

· West End Temperance Hall, Hawick Street, Carlisle is not currently available for use as a polling station due to the effects of the floods in December 2015. The location of the new polling station is a portable cabin, at Paddy’s Market Car Park, Shaddongate, Carlisle.

· St. Aidan’s Church Hall on Victoria Place is not currently available for use as a polling station due to the floods in December 2015. The location of the new polling station is St. Aidan’s Church, Warwick Road, Carlisle.

· Fir End School, Smithfield is longer available for use as a polling station. The location of the new polling station is Skitby House, Kirklinton.

· Westfield House, Roweltown is no longer available for use as a polling station. The location of the new polling station is Shankhill School, Hethersgill, Carlisle.

If residents within these areas would prefer to vote by post for this, or any future elections, they are asked to contact the City Council’s Electoral Registration team. Application forms are available by calling 01228 817556 or 817555, or by visiting the Civic Centre’s Customer Contact Centre.

The closing date for applications to vote by post at the forthcoming election is 5pm on Tuesday 19 April.

Anyone who has already applied for a postal vote will be unaffected by the change of polling station.

Some polling stations within flood affected areas will remain in the same locations but may be based within portakabins.

Carlisle City Council Elections will be held in: Belah; Belle Vue; Botcherby; Brampton; Castle; Currock; Dalston; Denton Holme; Great Corby & Geltsdale; Harraby; Hayton; Morton; St Aidans; Stanwix Urban; Upperby; Wetheral and Yewdale wards.

The deadline to register in time for the election is midnight on Monday 18 April 2016.


Registration for Eden Council elections

Every household in Eden will be receiving a letter with the details of who is included in the Register of Electors at each property in the district.

This council says it is a chance for people to check whether they are registered and eligible to vote in the forthcoming General, District and Parish Elections on 7 May 2015.

Since the introduction of Individual Electoral Registration (IER) last year, it is now everyone's personal responsibility to ensure they are registered using the online registration facility.

If the letter states that you are registered, no further action is required.

"We want to ensure that everyone who is entitled to vote is able to exercise their democratic right at the important elections on 7 May, and they can only do that if they are included in the Register of Electors, so it is vital for everyone to check whether they are registered."

– Paul Foote, Eden District Council's Electoral Registration Officer

For more information visit the government website.

Those who do not receive a letter should contact Eden District Council by telephone or email

South Lakeland District Council result

The Liberal Democrats held South Lakeland District Council booking the national trend. The party lost one council seat to the Conservatives in Sedbergh. They re-took a council seat in Kendal from an Independent.

The turnout was 47.46 per cent.

All 28 seats on Kendal town council were won by the Lib Dems.

The council is made up of:

  • 33 Lib Dem
  • 14 Conservative
  • 3 Labour


Talks over political make up for Cumbria County Council

Talks are to take place next week between the Labour group and other parties after Thursday's election led to it securing the biggest number of seats at county level in Cumbria.

It's expected that a deal will be done ahead of the first full council meeting of the new administration on 16 May.

A new leader of the authority and details on the make up of the administration will have to be agreed.

Labour are the biggest party in the county with 35 seats; the Conservatives have 26 and the Liberal Democrats 16.

The remaining seven seats went to independents and other parties.

Load more updates