Live updates



University award for former Carlisle MP

Former Carlisle MP Eric Martlew Credit: ITV Border

Former Carlisle MP Eric Martlew will be given an honorary fellowship by the University of Cumbria today.

He represented the area in Parliament for more than 20 years before standing down at the 2010 General Election.

Mr Martlew will be presented with the award in recognition of his outstanding and lifelong contribution to public service at Carlisle Cathedral.

Load more updates