It was opened by Sir Walter Scott in 1832, but when a new bridge was built over the Tweed, it quickly fell into a state of disrepair. After decades of neglect, repairs will now be carried out on the Old Tweed Bridge which spans the river near Scott's old residence Abbotsford House.
The local council and the Scottish Government had argued over who should look after the bridge, but now a deal between the two has been agreed to cover the cost of the repairs.
More top news
A look ahead at the forecast for the Border region.
In the picturesque village of Maulds Meaburn, Flass is alleged to have been at the centre of a multi-million-pound drugs plot.
The Lake District National Park wants 10 volunteers to meet tourists on Windermere cruises and encourage them to stop off at Brockhole.