A new-look Grimsby Top Town Market will be unveiled today following a £100,000 revamp.
Improvements have been made to the market entrances with new electronic display screens, new signs and new flooring.
In the entrance near Devonshire House there are two murals depicting Grimsby through the ages and display cabinets for local crafts mounted in the Victoria Street entrance.
Cllr Peter Wheatley will officially unveil the artwork today in time for an Easter event in the market from 10am onwards on Saturday.
The Easter Saturday Fun Day will include a free workshop where children can create Easter crafts to take home. Other entertainment will include the Jive Bunnies, Feet First Entertainment, plus Easter egg giveaways and free face painting.
The market consists of 81 stalls and nine units selling a variety of items including fruit and vegetables, meat, fish, sweets, clothing, shoes, electrical good, gifts and flowers.
– Councillor Peter Wheatley, North East Lincolnshire Council
"These works make the market more attractive for shoppers and traders alike.
"Markets have for centuries been the lifeblood of towns up and down the country and the two murals depict this market's history and Grimsby's industrial heritage. We've also introduced a showcase for local craftspeople to exhibit their wares to encourage more shoppers into the market and improve the overall shopping experience."
The market has an impressive history: records show there has been a market in Grimsby since the end of the 12th century and during the period of the town's decline the market became the mainstay of economic life in the borough.
It was originally held on Wednesdays and Saturdays near the Market Cross to the east of St James Church and received its first Royal Charter from King James I in the year 1604.
A Corn Exchange was opened in 1857 housing some traders, and a roof extension was later erected to protect outdoor traders. The local council took over the running of the market in 1853 and after occupying various locations in the centre of the town it moved to its present building in 1976.