Doncaster Mayoral Elections

Voters in Doncaster head to the polls on Thursday 2 May to elect the town's next mayor.

Live updates


Head-to-head in Doncaster mayoral contest

The next Mayor of Doncaster will be either Labour's Ros Jones or incumbent Peter Davies, who is standing as an independent.

After the first round of voting, they were separated by 590 votes. But because neither polled at least 50% of the total votes cast, second preference votes are now being counted.

The eight other candidates have been eliminated from the contest.

Results after the first count were:

  • Ros Jones (Lab) 21,996 (35.83%)
  • Peter Davies (Ind) 21,406 (34.87%)
  • David Allen (Eng Dem) 4,615 (7.52%)
  • Mick Maye (Ind) 4,557 (7.42%)
  • Martin Drake (C) 2,811 (4.58%)
  • Mary Jackson (TUSC) 1,916 (3.12%)
  • John Brown (LD) 1,122 (1.83%, +1.83%)
  • Tony Ward (Ind) 1,110 (1.81%)
  • Dave Owen (NF) 1,066 (1.74%,)
  • Doug Wright (Services) 786 (1.28%)

10 in fight to become next Mayor of Doncaster

Officials have confirmed 10 hopefuls are in the running to become Doncaster's next mayor.

Polling stations open at 7am on Thursday 2 May.

Full list of candidates:

  • David ALLEN (English Democrats-'Putting England First!')
  • John BROWN (Liberal Democrats)
  • Peter DAVIES (Independent)
  • Martin DRAKE (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Mary JACKSON (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)
  • Ros JONES (Labour Party Candidate)
  • Michael MAYE (Independent)
  • Dave OWEN (National Front Putting Britain First)
  • Tony WARD (Independent)
  • Doug WRIGHT (Save Your Services)
Back to top