1. ITV Report

Run-down Midlands schools to receive cash boost

Schools to receive money to rebuild dilapidated buildings. Photo: ITV Central

The Government has announced that 52 schools in the Midlands are to receive money to rebuild dilapidated buildings.

However, many more who had applied for repair work have missed out.The Priority Schools Building Programme (PSBP) replaces the Building Schools for the Future (BSF) project which the Coalition controversially scrapped shortly after coming into office.

Dozens of schools in the region with plans for rebuilding were left disappointed. Under BSF, the previous Labour government had sought to rebuild every secondary school in England at a cost of £55billion.

The Education Secretary Michael Gove said it was wasteful and over-bureaucratic. The new scheme will cost £2billion over five years.

The biggest beneficiary of today's announcement is Nottinghamshire, where 15 schools will get building work, more than any other education authority in the country.

They include the Grove School in Newark,where pupils made their own video to show the poor state of their classrooms.

But another 33 schools in the county have been unsuccessful in securing money from the new fund.

Similarly in Birmingham, six schools will receive money for building work, but a further 16 have missed out.

"In tackling the challenges we face on school building I have been determined to use the capital funding at my disposal to best effect, seeking value for money and efficiency from every pound spent.

"I know that many schools will be disappointed not to be included in the programme. We have had to take difficult decisions in order to target spending on those schools that are in the worst condition."

– Michael Gove, Education Secretary

Below is a list of schools which will benefit from the funding:


  • Castle Vale Performing Arts College
  • Hallmoor School
  • Heathlands Junior and Infant School
  • Kings Norton High School
  • Plantsbrook School
  • Turves Green Boys' School


  • Alice Stevens School
  • Ernesford Grange Community School
  • President Kennedy School
  • Richard Lee Primary School
  • St Thomas More Catholic Primary School
  • Whitmore Park Primary School
  • Wyken Croft Primary School


  • Asterdale Primary School
  • Carlyle Infant School
  • Cavendish Close Junior School
  • Chaddesden Park Infant School (joint application with Chaddesden Park Junior School)
  • Lees Brook Community School
  • Reigate Primary School
  • Woodlands School


  • Alfreton Grange Arts College


  • Forest Lodge Primary School


  • Glenbrook Primary and Nursery School
  • Springfield Primary School
  • Top Valley School and Engineering College


  • Abbey Primary School
  • Annie Holgate Infant School (joint application with Annie Holgate Junior School)
  • Annie Holgate Junior School (joint application with Annie Holgate Infant School)
  • Carsic Primary School
  • Ethel Wainwright Primary School
  • Fountaindale School
  • John Davies Primary School
  • Leamington Primary and Nursery School
  • Lynncroft Primary School
  • Rosebrook Primary School
  • Serlby Park Academy (Primary school co-location with Secondary school)
  • Serlby Park Academy (Secondary school co-location with Primary school)
  • South Nottinghamshire Academy
  • Sunnyside Primary and Nursery School
  • The Grove School


  • St John’s Church School
  • West Town Primary School


  • Hall Green Primary School
  • Harvills Hawthorn Primary School
  • The Phoenix Collegiate


  • Clough Hall Technology School
  • Gnosall St Lawrence C of E (C) Primary School
  • Moorgate Community Primary School


  • Queen Elizabeth School


  • Edward the Elder Primary School
  • Wood End Primary School