1. ITV Report

The Midlands' first Police and Crime Commissioners

The newly elected Police and Crime Commissioners were announced today and will assume office next Thursday.

Yesterday voting took place in 41 force areas of England and Wales outside of London.

The newly elected Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) will be responsible for force budgets, policing priorities and Chief Constables.


Labour's Bob Jones has been elected as the first Police and Crime Commissioner for the West Midlands, the largest police force outside of London.

He is a member of the outgoing Police Authority, the organisation his new role replaces.

After a second stage of counting to take into account 2nd preference votes, Bob Jones received a total of 117,388 votes.

Bob Jones the first PCC for West Midlands Credit: ITV Central


Ron Ball the new PCC for Warwickshire

(First Count)

James Plaskitt (Lab) 22,308 (34.70%)

Ron Ball (Ind) 21,410 (33.30%)

Fraser Pithie (C) 20,571 (32.00%)

Eliminated: Fraser Pithie

(Second Count)

Distribution of Pithie's votes

James Plaskitt (Lab) 25,200

Ron Ball (Ind) 33,231

Elected: Ron Ball

Electorate 422,163; Turnout 64,289 (15.23%)

Ronald Ball is an independent candidate Credit:


Bill Longmore the new PCC for West Mercia

Bill Longmore (Independent) has been elected as the Police and Crime Commissioner for West Mercia. The final results, after taking second preference votes into consideration, are as follows:

(First Count)

Bill Longmore (Ind) 50,900 (37.75%)

Adrian Blackshaw (C) 49,298 (36.56%)

Simon Murphy (Lab) 34,652 (25.70%)

Eliminated: Simon Murphy

(Second Count)

Distribution of Murphy's votes

Bill Longmore (Ind) 71,955

Adrian Blackshaw (C) 54,499

Elected: Bill Longmore

Electorate 927,649; Turnout 134,850 (14.54%)

Bill Longmore is an independent candidate Credit:


Alan Charles the new PCC for Derbyshire

(First Count)

Alan Charles (Lab) 50,028 (44.31%)

Simon Spencer (C) 27,690 (24.52%)

David Gale (Ukip) 18,097 (16.03%)

Rod Hutton (Ind) 17,093 (15.14%)

Eliminated: David Gale, Rod Hutton

(Second Count)

Distribution of Gale's and Hutton's votes

Alan Charles (Lab) 57,248

Simon Spencer (C) 36,469

Elected: Alan Charles**

Electorate 786,982; Turnout 112,908 (14.35%)

Alan Charles is standing for Labour Credit:


Adam Simmonds the new PCC for Northamptonshire

(First Count)

Adam Simmonds (C) 30,436 (30.08%)

Lee Barron (Lab) 25,098 (24.81%)

John Norrie (Ind) 19,276 (19.05%)

Jim MacArthur (Ukip) 18,963 (18.74%)

Paul Varnsverry (LD) 7,394 (7.31%)

Eliminated: Jim MacArthur, John Norrie, Paul Varnsverry

(Second Count)

Distribution of MacArthur's, Norrie's and Varnsverry's votes

Adam Simmonds (C) 40,923

Lee Barron (Lab) 30,551

Elected: Adam Simmonds**

Electorate 518,829; Turnout 101,167 (19.50%)

Adam Simmonds is standing for the Conservatives Credit:


Paddy Tipping the new PCC for Nottinghamshire

(First Count)

Paddy Tipping (Lab) 57,356 (43.13%)

Malcolm Spencer (Ind) 30,263 (22.76%)

Tony Roberts (C) 26,304 (19.78%)

Raj Chandran (Ind) 19,050 (14.33%)

Eliminated: Raj Chandran, Tony Roberts

(Second Count)

Distribution of Chandran's and Roberts's votes

Paddy Tipping (Lab) 65,919

Malcolm Spencer (Ind) 52,789

Elected: Paddy Tipping

Electorate 809,683; Turnout 132,973 (16.42%)

Paddy Tipping is standing as an independent candidate Credit:


Sir Clive Loader the new PCC for Leicestershire

(First Count)

Sir Clive Loader (C) 59,915 (48.26%)

Sarah Russell (Lab) 42,503 (34.23%)

Suleman Nagdi (Ind) 21,744 (17.51%)

Eliminated: Suleman Nagdi

(Second Count)

Distribution of Nagdi's votes

Sir Clive Loader (C) 64,661

Sarah Russell (Lab) 51,835

Elected: Sir Clive Loader

Electorate 776,964; Turnout 124,162 (15.98%)

Clive Loader is standing for the Conservatives Credit:


Matthew Ellis the new PCC for Staffordshire

Matthew Ellis has been elected as the new Police and Crime Commissioner for Staffordshire.

The turnout was 11.97%, the lowest in the whole of the Midlands.

(First Count)

Matthew Ellis (C) 51,237 (51.85%)

Joy Garner (Lab) 47,589 (48.15%)

Elected: Matthew Ellis

Electorate 849,788; Turnout 98,826 (11.63%)

Matthew Ellis is a Conservative candidate Credit:


Alan Hardwick the new PCC for Lincolnshire

(First Count)

David Bowles (Stop) 27,345 (32.66%)

Alan Hardwick (Ind) 26,272 (31.37%)

Richard Davies (C) 19,872 (23.73%)

Paul Gleeson (Lab) 10,247 (12.24%)

Eliminated: Richard Davies, Paul Gleeson

(Second Count)

Distribution of Davies's and Gleeson's votes

David Bowles (Stop) 35,086

Alan Hardwick (Ind) 39,221

Elected: Alan Hardwick

Electorate 547,843; Turnout 83,736 (15.28%)

Alan Hardwick is standing as an Independent candidate Credit:

More on this story