Live updates

Leicester-born film director given Fellowship Award

Stephen Frears arriving for the BFI London Film Festival Awards Credit: Yui Mok/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Leicester-born film director Stephen Frears has been honoured with a fellowship from the British Film Institute (BFI). He was given the award at tonight's London Film Festival Awards, and joked that it made him feel "geriatric".

The 73-year old has worked on a diverse range of material over the years, including last year's "Philomena" starring Dame Judi Dench, "The Queen", starring an Oscar-winning Dame Helen Mirren, "Tamara Drewe", "High Fidelity", "Dangerous Liaisons" and "My Beautiful Launderette", which was given critical acclaim for tackling issues of homosexuality and race.

"It feels very, very nice".

– Stephen Frears, film director on the Fellowship accolade

Fellow East Midlander John Hurt, who's from Shirebrook in Derbyshire and who starred in Frears' first big-screen film "The Hit" in 1984 paid tribute to the director's body of work.

"He's made some wonderful films, from the big commercial ones - and he's very funny about those and what happened after those and how he retreated back to things he could understand more. Which was things that actually just don't cost as much, and I think that's where his best work is".

– John Hurt, actor

Frears' next offering is a biopic about drug-shamed cyclist Lance Armstrong.

Advertisement

Torvill & Dean talk about their upcoming Midlands theatre tour

Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean are hoping to bring their autobiography to life, with a tour later this month, at venues across the Midlands.

After signing hundreds of copies of their brand new book in Nottingham this morning, the skating pair found time to chat to ITV News Central about their hopes for the tour.

See Torvill and Dean at Midlands book signings

Jayne and Chris began signing copies of their new book in their home city of Nottingham this morning. Credit: ITV News Central

After signing hundreds of copies of their brand new book in Nottingham this morning, Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean are heading to Birmingham this afternoon for another signing.

They will arrive at Waterstones in New Street to sign copies of Our Life On Ice at 4:30pm.

The couple will head out on tour later this month to answer questions about their lives at venues across the Midlands:

  • 29th November, Warwick Arts Centre
  • 5th December, Oakengates Theatre, Telford
  • 7th December, Nottingham Playhouse
  • 11th December, Birmingham Town Hall

Advertisement

Excited fans get books signed by skating idols

Fans of Torvill and Dean have queued at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham to get a signed copy of the duo's new autobiography.

Torvill and Dean sign copies of their new book in Nottingham

Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean have returned home to Nottingham Ice Centre to sign copies of their new autobiography Our Life on Ice.

Christopher Dean and Jayne Torvill in Nottingham Credit: ITV News Central

In the book, the couple say they finally open up about the challenges they have faced and the pressures of life in the public eye.

Crowds gather for Torvill and Dean book signing in Nottingham Credit: ITV News Central
Our life on ice: The new Torvill and Dean autobiography Credit: ITV News Central

Torvill and Dean book signing in Nottingham

Torvill and Dean during a 'Dancing on Ice' event Credit: Peter Byrne/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean are signing copies of their autobiography today at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham.

The skating pair are most famous for winning gold with their Bolero routine in the 1984 Winter Olympics.

Doc Brown brings his many talents to the Midlands

He hasn't even hit 40 yet, but Doc Brown has already forged three successful careers in different fields.

He started out as a rapper on the underground scene, before making a name for himself as a comedian. Now, he's playing DS Joe Hawkins in ITV's 'Law & Order: UK'.

ITV Central caught up with Doc Brown - Ben Bailey Smith - as his stand-up comedy tour reaches Birmingham Town Hall tomorrow night and Stratford's RSC next month.

Load more updates