Live updates


Aston Villa announce signing of French midfielder

Aston Villa have confirmed the signing of French midfielder Jordan Veretout on a five-year deal.

Jordan Veretout has signed a five-year deal at Aston Villa Credit:

The 22 year-old has arrived for an undisclosed fee from Ligue 1 outfit Nantes, where he scored seven league goals in 36 matches last season.

Veretout collected nine caps for France's under-21 team between 2013 and 2014, but has never been selected for the senior squad.

He joins fellow summer signings at Villa Park Scott Sinclair, Micah Richards, Idrissa Gueye, Jordan Amavi, Jordan Ayew and Jose Angel Crespo.


  1. National

Australia increase lead but lose Nevill

Peter Nevill was caught behind. Credit: Reuters

England lost the wicket of Peter Nevill in the first hour of day three, but made steady progress.

Steven Finn had Nevill caught behind for 59, as Australia moved to 81 runs ahead, which won't worry England too much.

Mitchell Starc is still at the crease on 36 non out.

Load more updates