Live updates


Police officer left 'seriously injured' after incident on A5

Credit: PA Images

A police officer has been seriously injured following an incident this evening on the A5 in Staffordshire.

At around 6:15pm he attempted to stop a suspicious Heavy Goods Vehicle.

Following a short pursuit between Wall Island and Weeford Island, the truck stopped and the driver got out.

The male police officer then pursued him on foot, the suspect then threatened to harm the officer, who stepped back into the road where he was involved in a collision.

The suspect then approached another car that was stopped in traffic on the carriageway and pulled the driver from the vehicle before stealing it.

The officer from Tamworth station has been taken to hospital with suspected serious leg and chest injuries.


Load more updates