Live updates

Torvill & Dean talk about their upcoming Midlands theatre tour

Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean are hoping to bring their autobiography to life, with a tour later this month, at venues across the Midlands.

After signing hundreds of copies of their brand new book in Nottingham this morning, the skating pair found time to chat to ITV News Central about their hopes for the tour.

Advertisement

See Torvill and Dean at Midlands book signings

Jayne and Chris began signing copies of their new book in their home city of Nottingham this morning. Credit: ITV News Central

After signing hundreds of copies of their brand new book in Nottingham this morning, Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean are heading to Birmingham this afternoon for another signing.

They will arrive at Waterstones in New Street to sign copies of Our Life On Ice at 4:30pm.

The couple will head out on tour later this month to answer questions about their lives at venues across the Midlands:

  • 29th November, Warwick Arts Centre
  • 5th December, Oakengates Theatre, Telford
  • 7th December, Nottingham Playhouse
  • 11th December, Birmingham Town Hall

Excited fans get books signed by skating idols

Fans of Torvill and Dean have queued at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham to get a signed copy of the duo's new autobiography.

Torvill and Dean sign copies of their new book in Nottingham

Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean have returned home to Nottingham Ice Centre to sign copies of their new autobiography Our Life on Ice.

Christopher Dean and Jayne Torvill in Nottingham Credit: ITV News Central

In the book, the couple say they finally open up about the challenges they have faced and the pressures of life in the public eye.

Crowds gather for Torvill and Dean book signing in Nottingham Credit: ITV News Central
Our life on ice: The new Torvill and Dean autobiography Credit: ITV News Central

Torvill and Dean book signing in Nottingham

Torvill and Dean during a 'Dancing on Ice' event Credit: Peter Byrne/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean are signing copies of their autobiography today at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham.

The skating pair are most famous for winning gold with their Bolero routine in the 1984 Winter Olympics.

Advertisement

Torvill & Dean hold 'mass Bolero' in Nottingham

Torvill & Dean in their routine on St Valentine's Day 1984 in front of a sold-out Olympic Hall Juan Antonio Samaranch Credit: PA

Legendary Ice Dancers Torvill and Dean return to their home town of Nottingham today. The former olympic Gold medallists will perform a 'mass Bolero' in the Old Market Square.

Later they'll appear at the city's Ice Arena as part of the Dancing on Ice Tour.

Earlier this year Torvill & Dean travelled back to Sarajevo to recreate the Gold medal winning routine on the 30th Anniversary of the 1984 Winter Games.

Torvill and Dean recreate famous Bolero 30 years on

Nearly five thousand people have turned out to watch Nottingham's ice skating duo Torvill and Dean recreate their famous 1984 Bolero routine in Bosnia.

The routine won them gold in the Winter Olympics in Sarajevo 30 years ago.

After the performance, ITV News Central caught up with the pair.

Designer: Torvill & Dean statue a perfect tribute

Designs have been unveiled for a bronze statue of the Nottingham skaters Torvill and Dean.

Designer Carl Payne says it is the perfect tribute to the stars.

£80,000 needs to be raised for the statue to be made. It could be placed outside the National Ice Centre in Nottingham.

Load more updates