Live updates

Walsall FC complete the signing of Billy Clifford

Billy Clifford is the newest signing for Walsall FC Credit: Walsall FC

Walsall FC have completed the signing of former Chelsea midfielder, Billy Clifford until January 2015.

The 21 year-old is a product of the Stamford Bridge youth ranks, having been associated with the Premier League since the age of eight.

He left Stamford earlier this month and has joined The Saddlers following two pre-season friendlies.

I’ve been impressed by his attitude and his willingness to learn. He has fitted in well and I am delighted to add him to our squad.

There are elements of his game that require work, but he is aware of that and is prepared to come here on a short-term deal and work hard in a bid to earn himself a longer-term contract at the club.

– Dean Smith, Walsall FC boss

Scene of severe fire that left 63-year-old man dead

The fire ripped through the inside of his bungalow in Walsall. Credit: ITV News Central

This is the scene of a devastating fire which has left a 63-year-old man dead after it ripped through the inside of his bungalow in Walsall.

Firefighters had to break into the home in Brackendale Drive on the Yew Tree Estate shortly after 6.30pm yesterday, where they found the man inside having suffered burns and smoke inhalation.

Investigators believe the cause of the fire was accidental.

Firefighters had to break into the home in Brackendale Drive Credit: ITV News Central


Man killed in bungalow fire in Walsall

A 63-year-old man has died after a severe fire ripped through a bungalow in Walsall overnight.

Firefighters had to break into the home in Brackendale Drive on the Yew Tree Estate shortly after 6.30pm yesterday, where they found the man inside having suffered burns and smoke inhalation.

The fire happened in Brackendale Drive, Walsall Credit: Google Maps

Investigators believe the cause of the fire was accidental, from discarded smoking materials.

Station commander Mel Fellows said:

Unfortunately when crews got inside the building, they found a 63-year-old person dead from fire-related injuries.

This was a tragic loss of life and our thoughts go out to his family at this time.

– Station commander Mel Fellows, West Midlands Fire Service

He urged people to contact West Midlands Fire Service's fire safety advice line on 0800 389 5525, or visit the website.

Man wanted over Birmingham and Walsall assaults

Police in Birmingham hunting a wanted man over a number of assaults against women are appealing for information on his whereabouts.

Marcin Wawrety, 37, from Birmingham, is wanted in connection with the sexual assault of a woman in the Great Barr area on 15 June.

Officers also want to speak to him about another assault in Great Barr on 23 April, where a woman was grabbed by the neck, and a wounding on 23 May where a knife was held to a woman’s throat in the Bentley Heath area.

In addition to the assaults, Wawrety is also wanted by Birmingham Magistrates’ Court after failing to appear in connection with four separate offences: possession of cannabis, using racially aggravated threatening words or behaviour, harassment and breaching a restraining order.

Det Insp Ian Ingram, from the force’s Public Protection Unit, said:

Despite our best efforts to find Wawrety, we have been unable to trace him and we are now urging people to call us if they see him or know where he is.

He has connections to the Birmingham and Walsall areas and while he is not considered to be a danger to the general public, Wawrety is wanted over a number of nasty assaults - all involving women who are known to him ? so it’s important we find him as soon as possible.

Judo medal joy for teenager who trains in Walsall

Jemima Yeats-Brown who trains in Walsall, secured England a bronze medal in Glasgow in the Women's -63kg Contest. Here she tells our reporter Michael Sibert about what it feels like waking up as a Commonwealth Games winner, and how she was actually supposed to be somewhere else with her family instead of competing !

Two arrested after knife-point robbery at petrol station

Armed robbers stormed a Black Country petrol station and forced staff to hand over cash and cigarettes at knife-point in a terrifying raid in the early hours of this morning.

A member of staff at the Esso in Wolverhampton Road in Willenhall, Walsall, managed to dial 999 to report the robbery shortly before 4.30am.

The Esso in Wolverhampton Road, Willenhall Credit: Google Maps

Officers were on the scene within minutes and arrested two men, aged 26 and 34, nearby in Clarkes Road.

They recovered cigarettes and a quantity of cash. Police are now trawling CCTV for evidence.

Witnesses or anyone with information is urged to call officers in 101.


Body discovered in search for missing Walsall woman

A body has been discovered in the search for Amanda Hawkins from Walsall who has been missing since May 30.

Amanda Hawkins has been missing since May Credit: West Midlands Police

The 44-year-old from Darlaston was last seen getting off a bus in Lichfield Road at the junction of Barnetts Lane in Brownhills at around 4pm.

Police were called last night after a body was found on farmland in Burntwood.

A post mortem examination is due to take place. The death is being treated as unexplained.

Robber jailed for attack on mother and pregnant daughter in Walsall

Luke Ireland, 27, will serve four years and eight months in prison Credit: West Midlands Police

A man who robbed a woman and attacked her pregnant daughter in Walsall has been sentenced to more than four years in prison.

Luke Ireland was sentenced to four years and eight months in prison at Wolverhampton Crown Court after admitting the robbery.

The mother was walking along Church Road on 29 March when Ireland grabbed her hair, pressed a pistol into the back of her head and demanded her bag.

He then threatened her daughter but on seeing she was pregnant, changed his mind and ran off.

He was eventually arrested by police after jumping into a canal near Limehurst Road to evade capture.

He was later charged with robbery and a separate count of trying to rob the woman’s daughter. Ireland was also charged with possessing an imitation firearm after the replica handgun used in the robbery was found during a search at a property in Willenhall.

He is a dangerous individual whose criminal actions were fuelled by addiction to illegal substances.

The offence had a significant impact on the victims who have been left extremely fragile by this traumatic experience.

– Detective Sergeant Craig Newey, West Midlands Police
Load more updates