ECB name James Whitaker as chairman of selectors

The England and Wales Cricket Board have named former Leicestershire County Cricket captain and batsman James Whitaker as chairman of selectors, following Geoff Miller's resignation.

Whitaker led Leicestershire to the County Championship titles in 1996 and 1998 Credit: Rebecca Naden/PA Archive/Press Association Images

The former England cricketer, who has been a selector for the past five years, will begin his new role on New Year's Day. The ECB have also appointed ex-England wicketkeeper Paul Downton to the role of managing director of the national side.

Whitaker spent his whole career with Leicestershire, captaining them from 1996 until his retirement in 1999.