Manchester band James release first album in six years

Andy Diagram is watched by Tim Booth of James performing onstage at Hard Rock Calling in Hyde Park, London. Photo: PA

Manchester band James have released their first album in six years. ‘La Petite Mort’ was recorded in the wake of frontman Tim Booth losing his mother and best friend in quick succession.It is their first full-length studio album since 2008’s critically acclaimed Hey Ma.

James will tour the album in November. The dates are:

  • Tuesday 11th, Cambridge Corn Exchange
  • Wednesday 12th, Bristol Colston Hall
  • Friday 14th, Liverpool Arena
  • Saturday 15th, Glasgow Hydro
  • Monday 17th, Newcastle O2 Academy
  • Wednesday 19th, London Royal Albert Hall
  • Friday 21st, London O2 Brixton Academy
  • Saturday 22nd, Birmingham NIA
  • Sunday 23rd, Leeds Arena
James frontman Tim Booth backstage at the 1994 Woodstock Festival Credit: PA

James will also play throughout the Summer.

They will be playing:

  • Monday 2nd June, HMV Manchester
  • Tuesday 3rd June, Rough Trade East, London
  • Friday 13th June, Bergenfest, Bergen, Norway
  • Saturday 21st June, BA City Beats, Bratislava, Slovakia
  • Saturday 5th July, Groove Festival, Killruddery Estate, Bray, Co. Wicklow, Ireland
  • Sunday 6th July, DayTripper, Waterford, Ireland
  • Thursday 10th July, Oxford O2 Academy, Oxford
  • Friday 11th July, Summer In The City, Castlefield Bowl
  • Saturday 12th July, T in the Park, Balado, Kinross, Scotland
  • Tuesday 15th July, Theatro Vrachon, Vyronas, Athens, Greece
  • Thursday 17th July, Benicassim, Valencia, Spain
  • Friday 18th July, Festival Meo Marés Vivas, Praia do Cabedelo, Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
  • Saturday 19th July, Latitude Festival, Henham Park, Southwold, Suffolk
  • Friday 1st August, Camp Bestival, Lulworth Castle, Dorset
  • Sunday 3rd August, Umbria Rock Festival, Massa Martana, Umbria, Italy
  • Tuesday 5th August, La Feria del Hogar, Centro Cultural Deportivo, Lima, Peru