Live updates

"This is the best chance we will get to change the fortunes of the North" - Andy Burnham on 100 days as Mayor

Public safety will be put at risk unless cuts to frontline policing are reversed.

That is the message from Andy Burnham, as he marks 100 days since becoming the first Mayor of Greater Manchester.

Since taking office, the former Labour MP has pledged 15% of his 115 thousand pound a year salary to end rough sleeping by 2020, and led the region's response to the Manchester Arena terror attack.

He told our Political Correspondent Daniel Hewitt, that devolution is already giving the north a louder voice on the national stage:



  1. Border

South Lakes MP set to launch new 'town hall meetings'

Meetings are set to take place on on Friday 28 July and Tuesday 1 August Credit: PA

South Lakes MP, Tim Farron, is set to begin a series of 'town hall meetings' alongside his annual summer tour this year.

The meetings will give residents the opportunity to put their questions to Tim and to raise and discuss any issues local people have.

Tim Farron says one of the best parts of his job is listening to and acting on the concerns of local people.

Wherever you are in the South Lakes, and whatever your question or issue, I’d be delighted to see you on the tour or at one of the meetings.”

– Tim Farron, South Lakes MP

The first two meetings will be held at Carver Uniting Church in Windermere on Friday 28 July and Grange-over-Sands Parish Church on Tuesday 1 August. Both meetings will run from 7pm to 9pm.

Load more updates