Live updates

Interim mayor to be announced

The interim mayor of Greater Manchester will be chosen later. Senior officials from the 10 Greater Manchester Councils have been involved in making the decision. The two candidates standing are Lord Peter Smith, leader of Wigan Council and Greater Manchester Police and Crime Commissioner, Tony Lloyd.

Tony Lloyd, Police and Crime Commissioner for Greater Manchester Credit: ITV Granada

The interim mayor will not have executive powers but will provide strategic leadership in the transitional period until May 2017 when a directly elected mayor will be voted in by the Greater Manchester public.



Liverpool mayoral election results in full

Joe Anderson (Lab) 58,448 (59.33%)

Liam Fogarty (Ind) 8,292 (8.42%)

Richard Kemp (LD) 6,238 (6.33%)

John Coyne (Green) 5,175 (5.25%)

Tony Mulhearn (TUSC) 4,792 (4.86%)

Steve Radford (Lib) 4,442 (4.51%)

Tony Caldeira (C) 4,425 (4.49%)

Adam Heatherington (UKIP) 2,352 (2.39%)

Paul Rimmer (Eng Dem) 1,400 (1.42%)

Jeff Berman (Liverpool Ind) 1,362 (1.38%)

Mike Whitby (BNP) 1,015 (1.03%)

Peter Tierney (NF) 566 (0.57%)

  • Electorate 319,758; Turnout 98,507 (30.81%)
Load more updates