1. ITV Report

Seven in the running to be next Mayor of London

The candidates standing in the Mayor of London election on May 3 have been officially announced.

In the order that they will appear on the ballot paper, they are:

  • Siobhan Benita (Independent)
  • Carlos Cortiglia (BNP)
  • Boris Johnson (Conservative)
  • Jenny Jones (Green)
  • Ken Livingstone (Labour)
  • Brian Paddick (Liberal Democrat)
  • Lawrence James Webb (UKIP)
Siobhan Benita - independent candidate. Credit: Siobhan Benita.
Carlos Cortiglia - British National Party Credit: Carlos Cortiglia
Boris Johnson - Conservative Party Credit: Conservative Party
Jenny Jones - Green Party Credit: Green Party.
Ken Livingstone - Labour Party Credit: Labour Party
Brian Paddick - Liberal Democrats Credit: PHOTOSHOT / UPPA
Lawrence James Webb - UKIP Fresh Choice for London Credit: UKIP

Greater London Returning Officer, John Bennett, said: “The Mayor and the London Assembly are important and powerful roles. The winning candidates will be responsible for issues that affect everyone in London – from transport and policing, to housing and the environment – with an annual budget of around £14bn.

“We’ve now announced the list of official candidates, and now it is up to the 5.8m Londoners who are eligible to vote to make a decision on who will run the capital for the next four years.

Londoners will be voting for a new mayor on May 3, but also for members of the London Assembly, which holds the Mayor to account.

Voters will receive three ballot papers when they go to vote: one for the Mayor, one for Constituency Assembly Members (who represent particular areas) and one for the London-wide Assembly Members (who do not represent a particular area and are voted for through a system of proportional representation).

A full list of candidates standing in the Mayoral contest, London-wide contest and each of the 14 constituency contests can be found on the London Elects website.

More on this story