1. ITV Report

Paralympic torch relay route unveiled

The Paralympic torch is silver, rather than gold. Photo: LOCOG.

The full details of the route for the London 2012 Paralympic torch relay have been unveiled.

Wednesday 22 August

Unlike the Olympic flame, which was lit in Greece, the Paralympic flame will be created from four national flames.

Groups of scouts will ascend the highest peaks of each of the UK's home nations: Scafell Pike in England, Snowdon in Wales, Ben Nevis in Scotland and Slieve Donard in Northern Ireland.

Organisers say they will then use "a combination of teamwork and human endeavour" to light the flames, creating the spark by striking a metal rod against a rough surface.

Friday 24 August to Monday 27 August

Each flame will then be placed in a miner's lantern and be transferred to that nation's capital city for a day of celebrations.

The English Flame will light a ceremonial cauldron in Trafalgar Square on Friday 24 August, the Northern Irish flame will ignite a cauldron outside Stormont on Saturday 25, the Scottish flame will light a cauldron on The Mound on Sunday 26 and the Welsh flame will light a cauldron outside City Hall on Monday 27.

Tuesday 28 August

The four national flames will then come together at Stoke Mandeville - the spiritual home of the Paralympics - on August 28.

It is only there - when the flames are united - that the London 2012 Paralympic flame comes into existence.

The flame will travel on to the Olympic Stadium on a 24-hour overnight relay, covering 92 miles, in time for the Paralympic opening ceremony.

In total 580 torchbearers will take part, working in teams of five.

The torch relay will cover each of the six Olympic boroughs, and visit a number of London landmarks.

Highlights will include legs through Lord’s Cricket Ground, London Zoo, the famous Abbey Road crossing, and Piccadilly Circus.

The full street route can be seen here.

More on this story