Labour tightens grip on the political map of London

Labour today increased its grip on the political map of London after a disastrous night for the Conservatives.

Jeremy Corbyn in north London this morning

Tory losses included Treasury minister Jane Ellison in Battersea and London minister Gavin Barwell in Croydon Central.

The Liberal Democrats recaptured two south west London seats lost in 2015 - Kingston & Surbiton and Twickenham.

The victories mean a return to Parliament for two former coalition Cabinet ministers, Sir Ed Davey and Sir Vince Cable.

Sir Vince Cable is congratulated by his wife Rachel after being re-elected as the MP for Twickenham

But in a nail-biting contest involving recounts, the Lib Dems lost Richmond Park to Conservative Zac Goldsmith.

The Tories also lost the totemic seat of Enfield Southgate where Labour overturned David Burrowes' majority of 4,753.

Conservative cabinet minister Michael Portillo's defeat in Enfield Southgate was a defining moment in Tony Blair's 1997 Labour landslide.

The ultra safe Conservative seat of Kensington was also in the balance with no result declared yet after several recounts.