Honours criticised

Bradley Wiggins, Laura Trott, Mo Farah and David Weir are among the Olympians recognised in the 2013 New Year Honours. But Weir has told a newspaper that he feels Paralympians are sometimes left out, because they are not in the public eye.

Live updates

Criticism of New Year's Honours system

David Weir with his gold medal after winning the Men's 5000m - T54 at the Olympic Stadium. Credit: PA

The president of the International Paralympic Committee, Sir Philip Craven, has backed claims that more Paralympic athletes should have been recognised in the New Year's Honours List.

He was responding to comments from Londoner David Weir.

Weir won four golds at the London Games and was awarded a CBE in the honours list.

But he has told a newspaper that he feels Paralympians are sometimes left out, because they are not in the public eye.

Paralympic star hits out at Honours claim

Sutton's six-time Paralympic gold medallist David Weir has taken to twitter to dispel any suggestion that he is not happy with his CBE:

I am extremely happy to have been given a CBE and have never agreed with 'celebs' being awarded them...but at the end of the day it is an amazing honour and not to be turned down.I simply was saying that because of people in previous honours lists, Sarah (Storey) should have been honoured a long time ago...I certainly wasn't saying I deserved a knighthood or trying to take away from anyone that has been awarded one. I am proud to be British and have been honoured...this is for my children and as long as they are proud of their old man in a wheelchair that's all I need.

– David Weir, Paralympian (@davidweir2012)

Yesterday it was reported that the wheelchair racer was unhappy that Paralympians seemingly have to work harder to earn recognition than their non-disabled counterparts.

Weir is the only disabled athlete among five CBEs with only two Paralympians receiving OBEs.


London 2012 athletes celebrate honours

Mo Farah celebrates after winning the men's 5000m final at the London 2012 Olympic Games. August 11, 2012. Credit: REUTERS/Dylan Martinez

Double Olympic champ Mo Farah has been awarded a CBE in the Queen's New Year Honours.

Mo Farah trained in London for 10 years between 2001 - 2011 before moving to the United states to further his training.

But Former sports minister Gerry Sutcliffe told the Sun newspaper he deserves a higher accolade.

"Mo’s a national hero. I think it’s a mistake if Wiggins and Ainslie are honoured like this and Mo isn’t.

Mo’s a double gold-medal winner and you look at his performances over a period of time and he’s equal with those two in terms of performance and dedication."

Laura Trott celebrates an OBE

Laura Trott with her Olympic gold medal. August 7, 2012. Credit: REUTERS/Stefano Rellandini

Olympic champion Laura Trott, 20, has received an OBE in the New Year Honours for her services to cycling.

Trott won a double Olympic gold at London 2012 and is the World and European Team Pursuit and Omnium Champion.

She began cycling with her mother, who took up the sport to lose weight.

Laura Trott celebrates after the team pursuit gold finals. August 4, 2012. Credit: REUTERS/Cathal McNaughton
Back to top

Latest ITV News reports