London mayoral election results

Three London boroughs have counted their votes for directly-elected mayors - Hackney, Lewisham and Newham. Tower Hamlets is yet to declare.

Live updates

Lutfur Rahman re-elected as Tower Hamlets Mayor.

Lutfur Rahman re-elected Mayor of Tower Hamlets. Credit: PA

After a late night vote count, Lutfur Rahman has been re-elected for a second term as Mayor of the London borough of Tower Hamlets.

The closely-fought contest saw Rahman, formerly a member of the Labour Party but now under the banner of new party Tower Hamlets First, beat Labour's John Biggs by 37,395 votes to 34,143.

The results were announced at 1:30am, and after overcrowding earlier in the night, police stopped people entering the Troxy theatre, where the votes were being counted.

Rahman's campaign had been marred by allegations of fraud and corruption. Allegations he strongly denies.

An police investigation into the allegations, ordered by Communities Secretary Eric Pickles, found "no credible evidence of criminality".



Back to top