Mayor boosts number of deputies to seven

Mayor boosts number of deputies to seven Credit: REUTERS/Luke MacGregor

Boris Johnson has created six deputy mayors with at least one more in the pipeline as he continues a reshuffle of key City Hall advisers.

London Assembly member James Cleverly is appointed chairman of London's fire authority, replacing controversial fellow Tory Brian Coleman who lost his seat.

Victoria Borwick, another Conservative on the Assembly, becomes the mayor's "statutory" deputy, in place of Richard Barnes, who was also an election night casualty for the Tories.

Isabel Dedring, the Deputy Mayor for Transport will retain her post.

Other deputy mayors include Kit Malthouse who moves from Policing to Business and Enterprise, Sir Eddie Lister who remains Deputy Mayor for Planning and Munira Mirza, Deputy Mayor for Education and Culture.

Former Hammersmith and Fulham council leader Stephen Greenhalgh is expected to become Deputy Mayor for Policing.