Honours criticised

Bradley Wiggins, Laura Trott, Mo Farah and David Weir are among the Olympians recognised in the 2013 New Year Honours. But Weir has told a newspaper that he feels Paralympians are sometimes left out, because they are not in the public eye.

View all 5 updates ›

Laura Trott celebrates an OBE

Laura Trott with her Olympic gold medal. August 7, 2012. Credit: REUTERS/Stefano Rellandini

Olympic champion Laura Trott, 20, has received an OBE in the New Year Honours for her services to cycling.

Trott won a double Olympic gold at London 2012 and is the World and European Team Pursuit and Omnium Champion.

She began cycling with her mother, who took up the sport to lose weight.

Laura Trott celebrates after the team pursuit gold finals. August 4, 2012. Credit: REUTERS/Cathal McNaughton

More top news