Honours criticised

Bradley Wiggins, Laura Trott, Mo Farah and David Weir are among the Olympians recognised in the 2013 New Year Honours. But Weir has told a newspaper that he feels Paralympians are sometimes left out, because they are not in the public eye.

View all 5 updates ›

London 2012 athletes celebrate honours

Mo Farah celebrates after winning the men's 5000m final at the London 2012 Olympic Games. August 11, 2012. Credit: REUTERS/Dylan Martinez

Double Olympic champ Mo Farah has been awarded a CBE in the Queen's New Year Honours.

Mo Farah trained in London for 10 years between 2001 - 2011 before moving to the United states to further his training.

But Former sports minister Gerry Sutcliffe told the Sun newspaper he deserves a higher accolade.

"Mo’s a national hero. I think it’s a mistake if Wiggins and Ainslie are honoured like this and Mo isn’t.

Mo’s a double gold-medal winner and you look at his performances over a period of time and he’s equal with those two in terms of performance and dedication."

More top news