Council lose court battle to save fire stations

Seven local councils have lost their High Court battle over Mayor of London Boris Johnson's proposals to close 10 fire stations in the capital.

View all 9 updates ›

Three stations set to close helped at the Apollo Theatre last night

A firefighter speaking to police at the Apollo Theatre today Credit: Philip Toscano/PA Wire

Three of the eight fire stations that sent engines to the Apollo Theatre last night following the ceiling collapse that injured more than 70 people are set to close under the mayor's plans.

Westminster, Knightsbridge and Southwark stations are all earmarked for closure on January 9 2014

The application for judicial review was brought by the borough councils of Islington, Camden, Southwark, Tower Hamlets,Hackney, Lewisham and Greenwich.

The Fire Brigades Union has fought the proposed closures, which are part of a drive to save £28.8 million and have led to demonstrations across London.

More top news