MPs boundary changes rejected

The Prime Minister's plans to redraw Westminster's constituency boundaries and cut the number of MPs at the next general election have been rejected in the Commons.

Live updates

Conservative MP blasts 'dishonourable' Lib Dems

Conservative MP Peter Bone has launched a scathing attack on the Liberal Democrats, saying that they have broken their pledge over boundary changes:

The only honourable thing the Liberal Democrats can do tonight when they do not vote with the Conservative members, is they should resign from the Government and cross the floor of the House.

If they have any principle, any honesty with them, that is what they have to do."

The only issue the party had to deal with, would we allow a vote on AV in return for the Liberal Democrats supporting us on boundary reviews, that was the deal breaker.

Our party kept to that deal, they've gone back, they are a disgrace and should be over there.


Conservatives mourn 'sad day for democracy'

Conservative MP for Croydon Central Gavin Barwell, Reading East Conservative MP Rob WIlson and Jason McCartney, Conservative MP for Colne Valley have joined members from across the House in taking to Twitter after the Government Bill to change constituency boundaries was defeated:

Nick Clegg defies Government Bill over boundaries

Nick Clegg led his Liberal Democrat MPs through the No lobby to vote down a Government Bill which would have redrawn parliamentary constituencies for the 2015 general election - a move which was expected to have been to the likely benefit of the Conservatives.

David Cameron was in Leeds for a regional Cabinet meeting yesterday Credit: Stefan Wermuth/PA Wire

In the deepest split yet between the coalition parties, Liberal Democrats combined with Labour and smaller parties to delay the implementation of the boundary review - thought to be worth about 20 extra seats in the Commons to the Tories - until 2018.

The Deputy Prime Minister initially supported the changes as part of a package of constitutional reforms, but announced last summer that his party would try to delay the review after the Tories forced the abandonment of plans to reform the House of Lords.

Labour MPs celebrate boundary vote defeat

Labour MP for North West Durham Pat Glass, Diane Abbott Labour MP for Tooting, and Labour MP for Hackney North and Stoke Newington Sadiq Khan have all taken to Twitter after the Conservatives lost a vote to change the Westminster constituency boundaries:


Back to top