Labour wins South Shields vote

Labour have comfortably held the seat of South Shields after a by-election triggered by David Miliband standing down.

Live updates



UKIP claim 24.21% of vote as Tories, Lib Dems tumble

UKIP's second place finish in South Shields saw them claim 24.21% of the vote in the constituency, having not contested the seat in the last General Election.

By contrast, the vote of all three main parties fell - though only moderately for Labour.

The Conservatives saw their vote drop by 10.04%, down to 11.55% overall, while the Liberal Democrats - who finished third in 2010 - tumbled 12.79% to just 1.42% of the vote.

Newly-installed MP Emma Lewell-Buck claimed 50.51% of the constituency's vote, a drop of 1.51% from the vote share commanded by her predecessor David Miliband.

South Shields by-election full result

Labour's Emma Lewell-Buck has won the South Shields parliamentary by-election, with the United Kingdom Independence Party's Richard Elvin coming second.

  • Emma Lewell-Buck, Labour - 12,493
  • Richard Elvin, UKIP - 5,988
  • Karen Allen, Conservatives - 2,857
  • Ahmed Khan, Independent candidate - 1,311
  • Phil Brown, Independent Socialist Party - 750
  • Lady Dorothy MacBeth Brookes, BNP - 711
  • Hugh Annand, Lib Dems - 352
  • Howling Laud Hope, Monster Raving Loony Party - 197
  • Thomas Darwood, Independent candidate - 57

The result gives Labour a majority of 6,505 after claiming over 50 per cent of the vote.

Electorate 62,979; turnout 24,736 (39.28%, -18.42%).

Load more updates Back to top

Latest ITV News reports