Live updates

Where will the new university technical colleges be based?

Among the new wave of UTCs is Warwick, Cambridge and Hertfordshire - which will train 600 pupils in two specialisms - entertainment technologies and crafts, and electronic engineering and digital technology.

UTCs are also to be established in Swindon, Bluewater, Barking and Dagenham, Norfolk, Harlow, Lincoln, Coventry, Birkenhead, Liverpool and Cumbria.

Two UTCs are already open, the JCB Academy in Staffordshire, and the Black Country UTC in Walsall. 17 are in the pre-opening phase, with three due to open in September.


School Minister: New colleges 'provide more choice for children'

I am very pleased to be announcing another wave of strong UTC proposals.

Right around the country there is a lot of enthusiasm from employers, universities, pupils and parents for high quality rigorous technical education.

They provide more choice for children as well as helping provide the kind of highly skilled technicians our economy needs. The response from employers to UTCs speaks for itself.

– Lord Hill, School Minister

How do university technical colleges work?

  • A college will take about 600 students and are an additional institution in each of the broad catchment areas in which they are created.
  • Each of the colleges is focused on a local industry or trade - with a UTC near Heathrow centred on aviation engineering.
  • Curriculums include about 60% of material on core academic subjects via GCSEs and A-Levels, and 40% on specific technical skills and qualifications.
  • Pupils can elect to study at the UTCs at either 14 or 16.

New university technical colleges given go-ahead

Fifteen new university technical colleges linked to firms including Virgin Atlantic and Jaguar Land Rover are to open within two years, the Government said.

Jaguar Land Rover will be linked to the University of Warwick. Credit: Dave Thompson/PA Wire

Around 200 employers are linked to the new institutions, which offer pupils aged 14 to 19 a technical and engineering focus alongside academic study.

The 15 new state-funded colleges - which will each focus on a local industry or trade - are all linked to institutions including universities and businesses and will open in 2013 and 2014. They will join a network of 17 UTCs due to open this September or next.