Live updates

Cavendish out of the Commonwealth Games

Credit: PA

Mark Cavendish, the 30-times Tour de France stage winner, has withdrawn from next month's Commonwealth Games following a crash at Milan-San Remo last weekend.

The 32-year-old was due to represent the Isle of Man on the Gold Coast, but after sustaining a broken rib and damaged ankle has adjusted his race schedule and will no longer be travelling to Australia.

Cavendish said: "Although it's ultimately positive news that there's been no serious damage sustained following the crash I am hugely disappointed to have to withdraw from the Commonwealth Games."


Team Sky's Kwiatkowski seals victory in Tirreno-Adriatico

Credit: PA

Team Sky's Michal Kwiatkowski secured overall victory at Tirreno-Adriatico following the final stage time trial.

The 2014 road race world champion was the fastest of the general classification contenders on the 10-kilometre race against the clock in San Benedetto Del Tronto.

Kwiatkowski started the stage with a three-second advantage over Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing) but pushed his overall winning margin to 24 seconds with an impressive display.

The leading riders all had to deal with a damp course, with early finisher Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) taking stage victory in a time of 11 minutes and 14 seconds - 20 seconds quicker than Kwiatkowski.

Caruso held on to second overall ahead of Team Sky's Geraint Thomas, whose time of 11mins 37 secs earned him a podium place, 32 seconds adrift of his team-mate.

Thomas' fellow Briton Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) moved up a place from sixth to fifth with a time of 12.08, while Lotto Soudal's Tiesj Benoot recorded 12.01 to jump from eighth to fourth.

Mikel Landa (Movistar) started the day in a podium place, 23 seconds off the race lead, but his time of 12.24 dropped him to sixth overall and one minute 13 seconds behind the GC winner.

Chris Froome, who was out of the running in the GC standings after a number of mechanical issues during the week, finished in the same time as team-mate Kwiatkowski.

LottoNL-Jumbo's Jos van Emden was second on the stage, four seconds behind Dennis, with Team Sky's Jonathan Castroviejo a further four seconds back in third.

Thomas leads as Froome stays in Tirreno-Adriatico contention

This was Thomas' first ride after suffering injury at last year's Tour de France. Credit: PA

Geraint Thomas moved into the overall lead of Tirreno-Adriatico after Primoz Roglic took victory on stage three to Trevi on Friday.

Team Sky's Thomas finished fourth to inherit the race lead from BMC Racing's Patrick Bevin, though Thomas is on the same time as Bevin's team-mate Greg van Avermaet.

As controversy continues around Team Sky off the bike following the publication of a parliamentary report into doping in sport, they continue to look strong on the bike. Thomas' team-mate Chris Froome - facing his own issues following an adverse analytical finding for salbutamol last year - sits third in the race, three seconds behind Thomas' time.

Lotto NL-Jumbo's Roglic took victory after attacking off the front of the peloton with one kilometre remaining of the 234km stage from Follonica, which finished with two short climbs.

There was hesitation from behind as Roglic made his move, allowing him to get clear before Mitchelton-Scott's Adam Yates took up the chase.

Yates would finish second, with Thomas coming home after Lotto-Soudal's Tiesj Benoot.

"The team was very strong," Thomas said. "We had the plan to be as many as possible at the bottom of the climb. We did that very well.

"It was a natural selection to see how legs were. We tried to go for the stage but we can be happy with that. It's nice to get the jersey. It will be a big test tomorrow. It'll be different. Hopefully I'll feel good and if I don't hopefully Froomey or Kwiato (Michael Kwiatkowski) will take over."


Load more updates