FA release statement about McManaman tackle

The Football Association has confirmed that no action can be taken against Wigan's Callum McManaman over his tackle on Newcastle full-back Massadio Haidara on Sunday.

They have released the following statement:

"The FA can confirm that no action can be taken against Wigan's Callum McManaman retrospectively following his side's game against Newcastle United on Sunday 17 March 2013.

"Following consultation with the game's stakeholders in the summer, it was agreed that retrospective action should only be taken in respect of incidents which have not been seen by the match officials.

"Where one of the officials has seen a coming together of players, no retrospective action should be taken, regardless of whether he or she witnessed the full or particular nature of the challenge. This is to avoid the re-refereeing of incidents.

"In the case of Callum McManaman, it has been confirmed that at least one of the match officials saw the coming together, though not the full extent of the challenge. In these circumstances retrospective action cannot be taken.

"The principal objective behind the not seen policy is to address off-the-ball incidents where match officials are unlikely to be in a position to witness misconduct."

– Statement from Football Association