Young - and looking for work

As the latest jobs figures are released, we hear the differing experiences of two young people, in looking for work

Live updates


27 turbines makes Teesside wind generation site biggest in North East

A wind turbine generating electricity in the North East Credit: ITV Tyne Tees

The offshore wind farm operating off the Teesside coast has 27 turbines making it by far the biggest such site in the North East.

But it is dwarfed by the London Array with 175 turbines.

There are more than 20 such sites of varying sizes along the UK coast line.

"Is money more important than human life?"

An independent councillor opposing the closure of care homes in County Durham asked whether the decision meant that money was being put before human life.

Councillor Anita Savory addressed the council cabinet as it voted unanimously to close five care homes, at Stanhope, Belmont, Ferryhill, Peterlee and Chester-le-Street.

"If it's fair and just to remove residents out of Weardale, where they have lived all their lives, to a place that's completely alien to them, where they could be alone, insecure and frightened, how can closing this service, which is vital to Weardale be deemed acceptable?

"Is money more important than human life?"

– Councillor Anita Savory


Decision to close care homes taken "with heavy heart"

Durham County Council's cabinet supported the closure of the authority's five remaining care homes "with a heavy heart", according to its Vice Chair Councillor Alan Napier.

"We are trying to deliver services to the best of our ability but facing savage cuts. We did not expect to be making these decisions, not just about care homes, but about libraries and sports centres too. It is with a very heavy heart that I support this closure."

– Councillor Alan Napier

Councillors vote unanimously to close care homes

A cabinet meeting at Durham County Council has voted unanimously to close the five care homes, which remain in its control: at Stanhope, Belmont, Ferryhill, Peterlee and Chester-le-Street.

Mendip House is one of the care homes, which will now close

Councillor Alan Napier, the Vice Chair, said the decision was taken with "a heavy heart" but was necessary in the face of "savage" cuts. However independent Councillor Anita Savory asked if the decision meant money was more important than human life.

Load more updates