Live updates

Berwick MP pays to tribute to David Cameron

Anne-Marie Trevelyan - the MP for Berwick-upon-Tweed - and David Cameron Credit: Emily Knight (Office of Anne-Marie Trevelyan)

Anne-Marie Trevelyan - the MP for Berwick-upon-Tweed - has praised the outgoing Prime Minister, David Cameron.

He's all set to hand over to Theresa May later this evening (13th July).

Mrs Trevelyan, who had signed a letter asking the PM to stay on regardless of the result of his referendum, was in the Commons as he chaired his last PMQs session.

Anne-Marie said she already had a list of what she wanted Mrs. May to work on:

“Theresa May will need to continue to work on the key election pledges on which the Conservative Government was elected. T

op of my list are improving broadband provision in our rural communities, continuing the road investment scheme, strong support for farmers as we transition to a bespoke system which suits their needs post-Brexit, and ensuring we build more homes in places which complement existing communities.

There is a lot of work to do, but our new Prime Minister has my full support as she takes us through this challenging but exciting time.”

– Anne-Marie Trevelyan



Bridget Phillipson backs Angela Eagle bid

Angela Eagle launches Labour leadership bid Credit: PA

Houghton and Sunderland South MP Bridget Phillipson has backed Angela Eagle's bid to become the next Labour leader.

Ms Eagle launched her bid to oust Jeremy Corbyn on Monday.

Sunderland Central MP Julie Elliott is part of her campaign team and other North East MPs were at the launch to give their backing - including Houghton and Sunderland South MP Bridget Phillipson.

  1. National

Andrea Leadsom withdraws bid to be prime minister

Andrea Leadsom on Monday morning Credit: Pool

Andrea Leadsom has withdrawn her bid to be prime minister.

The junior energy minister said a nine-week leadership campaign at such a critical time for the UK would be "highly undesirable" and said she had decided she did not have sufficient support among MPs "to lead a strong and stable government."

She added that Theresa May was ideally placed to implement Brexit and offered the Home Secretary her full support.

Speaking on the steps of her campaign HQ in Westminster, she wished May "the very greatest success."

Leadsom pulled out the day after apologising to her Tory leadership candidate rival over comments she had made about motherhood to The Times newspaper.

  • The chairman of the Conservative backbench 1922 Committee is due to make a statement following Leadsom's departure, amid speculation that he will confirm that, as the only candidate remaining on the ballot paper, May can become leader without facing a vote of the party's 150,000 members.
Load more updates