Tyne Tees Sport

The latest North East sports news, including football results and transfer news for Newcastle, Sunderland, Middlesbrough, Hartlepool and York City.

View all 358 updates ›

Durham to stage Ashes test

Emirates Durham International Cricket Ground at Chester-le-Street Credit: ITV

Durham will host the fourth test of next year's Ashes series between England and Australia.

The five-match tour will begin at Trent Bridge on July 10. The second test is being held at Lord's from July 18.

The teams will then head to Old Trafford on August 1, while Durham will stage the penultimate match from August 9.

The series will conclude at The Oval on August 21.

England will also face Australia at Emirates Durham ICG in the second of two T20 matches on August 31.

Full Ashes 2013 schedule

July 10-14 - First Test (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)

July 18-22 - Second Test (Lord's, London)

August 1-5 - Third Test (Old Trafford, Manchester)

August 9-13 - Fourth Test (Emirates Durham ICG, Chester-le-Street)

August 21-25 - Fifth Test (Kia Oval, London)

More on this story