New Middlesbrough MP to be voted in on Thursday

The by-election for the Middlesbrough Constituency will take place this Thursday on November 29th.

Here is a list of the candidates:

  • Richard Peter Elvin - United Kingdom Independence Party
  • Peter Foreman - British National Party
  • Mark Heslehurst - Independent
  • Ben Houchen - The Conservative Party
  • Imdad Hussain - The Peace Party
  • John Malcolm - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Andy McDonald - The Labour Party
  • George Selmer - Liberal Democrats

The by-election is due to take place after the death of Sir Stuart Bell last month.

Sir Stuart had been the town’s MP since 1983 and died following a short illness at the aged of 74.


Labour holds Middlesbrough

Labour has overwhelmingly held the seat of Middlesbrough with Andy McDonald elected the constituency's new MP with 10,201 votes. The by-election was called after the death of Sir Stuart Bell last month.