1. National

EU receives Nobel Peace Prize

The European Union has received the Nobel Peace Prize in honour of its peace-keeping since World War Two at a ceremony in Norway. David Cameron was not be among the European leaders who attended the ceremony.

View all 27 updates ›

European Union wins Nobel Peace Prize

The European Union Credit: Press Association.

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to the European Union, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced today. Lars Bevanger said:

"The stabilising work of the European Union turned a continent of war into an continent of peace"

The committee praised the 27-nation EU for rebuilding after World War Two and for its role in spreading stability to former communist countries after the 1989 fall of the Berlin Wall. The prize, worth $1.2 million, will be presented in Oslo on December 10.

More top news