1. National

Wiggins wins Sports Personality

Tour de France and Olympic cycling gold medallist Bradley Wiggins has been crowned BBC Sports Personality of the Year. The 32-year-old was presented with the trophy by the pregnant Duchess of Cambridge.

View all 23 updates ›

Sports Personality contenders

  • Nicola Adams (Olympic boxing gold medallist)
  • Ben Ainslie (Olympic sailing gold medallist)
  • Jessica Ennis (Olympic heptathlon champion)
  • Mo Farah (Olympic gold medallist in the 5,000m and 10,000m)
  • Katherine Grainger (Olympic rowing gold medallist)
  • Sir Chris Hoy (Olympic track cycling gold medallist)
  • Rory McIlroy (World Number One golfer and 2012 PGA Championship winner)
  • Andy Murray (US Open winner and Olympic tennis gold medallist)
  • Ellie Simmonds (Paralympic swimming gold medallist)
  • Sarah Storey (Paralympic cycling gold medallist)
  • David Weir (Paralympic wheelchair gold medallist)
  • Bradley Wiggins (Tour de France winner and Olympic cycling gold medallist)

More top news